Series Overview: The Fever Series

January 9, 2012

The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning


Overall Series Rating
Four and a Half, but I'll round. ;P

Winter break ended on a high note, fo'sho. My reading list for 2011 is offically over! But looking past all that gangster speak, reading Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series was one of the best decisions I made during my break from classes.

Five days, five books, and a whole lot of awesomeness.
Because I read them so fast, it's going to take me a while to review all of them so I thought I'd just like do one quick series overview so I can move on with my to-read list. 

Summary for Darkfever (Fever #1)
MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.
When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….
As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands….
And that's how the story begins. Interesting, isn't it? I can't reveal that summaries for the next four books without spoiling anything, but if your in for a very different kind of romance novel then this is the story for you.

My Thoughts.

If your looking for a good romance novel with an amazing plot then definitely pick this up. I mean, Jericho Barrons is the most interesting man on the planet - well in Dublin at least.
The entire series as a whole was interesting, capitaving, and drew me in with its mysteries and hopes for the two main characters, Mac and Barrons. At first this isn't a romance at all, but it soon becomes one as their lives are intertwined.

The series in general had a really good pace, however the amount of foreshadowing that occurred in the first three books really gave away a lot of things. However, the last book completely and utterly redeems itself in some ways, and leaves us still with questions unanswered. 
But would I read it again? Psh, yeah.


What I Loved.

  • The Plot. It was amazing and completely enthralling. Overall, it was pretty original and really addicting. There's action, mystery, romance, and all the things that make up an awesome book.
  • The slow developing relationship between Barrons and Mac. At first I didn't think it was fast enough, but as you read through the series you realize that it all fits perfectly well together. To have rushed would have made it cliche and cheesy.
  • Barron's Books & Baubles. The book store that Barrons' owns that she lives at it probably one of the best settings I've read in a book in a while. Who wouldn't want to live in a book store that looking like the Long Room at Trinity College?
  • V'laine. A "death-by-sex" vamp he completes the novels with his humor and interesting situations he puts our characters in. His relationship with Mac is complex and he really gives Barron a run for his money. Plus the ending of his plot line was just shocking. I mean, what?!
  • Mac's character development. Throughout the novels you really see her grow as a character. Abet, now quickly, but in time with the changes in her life. She becomes one walking ball of pink to the "king" of the unseelie.
  • "Ms. Lane." "Barrons." You'll get it when you read it. ;P
  • Dani. She's my spirit animal. I mean, she's thirteen and a super bad ass. What more can you want?
  • The Sinsar Dubh. The series practically revolves around it, and I can see why. As an OOP ( Object of Power or a Fae relic), it's definitely the most interesting one and does well in driving the story.
  • The Highlanders. I'm reading the series right now and I love that she gave them their little cameo.
  • Mac's glossary. At the end of every book (except the last) there's a glossary written by Mac herself with all of the Fae vocab words you might need to know, as well as some Irish recipes.

What I Didn't Like.

  • It got confusing. As the story progressed some of the character's wrong theories or lies made trying to figure out what really was going on in an already complex novel.
  • Rowena. She's a real two faced character and I know why she did what she did, but I just can't reason with it. She was off character for me.
  • Barron's secret. Throughout the entire series she's been baiting us with who and what she is and we are never answered. We get the basics, but we are never given a name or any explanations.
  • The dialogue. I'm not sure if it was just me, but the banter in the dialogue between characters got kind of annoying.
  • The lack of Jayne. As a detective and police officer that played rather prominently in a few of the books, he's hardly mentioned in others. I thought his plot line could have been really interesting.
Should You Read Them?
If you like a good paranormal romance with a plot that's to die for and a slow but truly passionate romance then this is the book for you!

Overall Cover Rating: 3 Stars

The cover for the first four were meh, but the last certainly redeems itself.


Post a Comment

Blog contents © Viva la Bookworm 2010. Blogger Theme by Nymphont.